Affirmations

So affirmations were one of the things I picked from the self-care wheel to work on over the next couple of weeks. I’ve read/heard a lot about affirmations, but I’ve never given them a real chance. I considered it silly and fake to tell myself things I didn’t believe at all. But the more I learn about brain plasticity and such the more I think I need to be telling myself positive things on a regular basis.

There are a ton of affirmations to choose from–affirmations for self-esteem, affirmations for strength, mindfulness affirmations, etc. I’ve picked 5 that I think will be a good place to start. A therapist told me once that it’s easier to start with affirmations you find more believable, which makes sense. So for me that means starting with something like “I have something to offer the world” and not “I am beautiful.”

I read several lists of affirmations online before choosing mine, and I saw some that said things like, “Money comes to me easily and effortlessly,” and “I am beautiful and smart and that’s how everyone sees me.” I don’t believe in telling myself things that are just not true. Money does not come to me easily and effortlessly and it probably never will. I’ll always have to work hard for it. And not everyone is going to see me as beautiful and smart. No amount of telling myself those things is going to alter those particular realities. I’d rather learn to be okay with the fact that some people might think bad things of me but that their opinions don’t change who I really am.

So I chose affirmations that I think are positive, uplifting, and realistic. These affirmations might not work for everyone, but they are a good fit for me. Here they are.

1. I am conquering my illness; I am defeating BPD a day at a time.

2. My future does not have to be a reflection of my past, and it won’t be.

3. I can stand it if I don’t get what I want or need all the time.

4. I have power over the way I react to things.

5. I have the strength to accept life as it is.

I am going to write these down and post them around my house so I can see them. I might write them on an index card and stick it somewhere in my car where I’ll see it when I’m on the way to work and such. I hope they help!

One thought on “Affirmations

Leave a Reply

