Low Carb Was Not For Me

A while ago I wrote about starting a low carb diet. I didn’t go full-on keto for other health reasons, but for 8 weeks I ate between 30 and 40 grams of carbs a day. There is one version of the Atkins diet that allows for 40 grams of carbs a day, so I know my intake was reasonable.

My diet improved; I ate a lot of chicken, salmon, and green vegetables. I was happy because I could eat cheese and nuts for snacks and didn’t have to obsessively count calories. I also think it was good because it made me pay attention to the sugar in things that I considered harmless because they were low in calories, like the calorie-free Gatorade. I know Gatorade isn’t going to kill me, but it was something to consider.

However, as time went by I gained weight and my mood became increasingly lower. I read more about the low-carb diet and learned that low-carb diets can cause/exacerbate depression and anxiety. Here are a couple sources:

https://www.psychologytoday.com/articles/200403/low-carb-state-mind

http://www.livestrong.com/article/336671-low-carbohydrate-depression/

I wanted to give the diet 8 full weeks in case my body needed time to adjust. After that time was up and I’d only gained weight and sunk lower, I decided to stop.

Obviously, this isn’t what happens to everyone. Low-carb diets work for a lot of people. It’s just not what my body wanted, so I need to do something else. I will say this, though: while eating low-carb, I had waaaay less stomachaches. I think it was a combination of eating more vegetables and eating less candy. So that was a good thing.

I guess now if I want to lose weight I will have to go back to counting calories. For the time being I have other goals I’m focusing on, as I wrote about in my previous post, but I am going to work on slowly improving my eating habits overall.

Leave a Reply

